Beyond Expectations
AmCham Indonesia’s AGM wraps up 2019 and looks forward to 2020
Dec 13, 2019 | By Peter Sean Lie

Reflecting on 2019 and electing a new Board of Governors were the central activities as AmCham Indonesia held its annual general meeting on December 9 at the Le Meridien Hotel Jakarta. 

Board President Scott Hanna spoke on the continuous improvement in AmCham’s financial health, highlighting increasing revenue and reduced expenses as the fruits of better management.

He also said AmCham had held great events in 2019, including “the biggest US-Indonesia Investment Summit to date” and “a successful Homecoming event.”

US Ambassador to Indonesia Joseph R Donovan, who will be leaving his position next year, began by congratulating AmCham on the Investment Summit, which was one of “the most important events this year.”

He also highlighted important partnerships between the US Embassy and AmCham Indonesia, particularly in hosting Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross and his delegation in Jakarta. 

“In my three years of tenure, I have had the pleasure of witnessing our deepening partnership,” Ambassador Donovan said.

The event continued with Managing Director A Lin Neumann giving his review of the year, highlighting some of the most important AmCham events, its advocacy work and new committees. All of these activities are outlined in more detail in AmCham’s online Annual Report 2019.

The event continued with the announcement of the results of the vote for members of AmCham’s 2020 Board of Governors. At the meeting, a number of constitutional changes were also approved by the membership, including a shift from having a Board President to having a Board Chairman. 

Six board positions needed to be filled, with some board members leaving due to term limits and previous board members changing their status; Dennis Heffernan became Governor Emeritus and Brian Arnold became Governor Ex-Officio. 

The governors elected or reelected were, alphabetically: Batara Sianturi, Citi Indonesia; Devi Kusumaningtyas, Nike; Donna Priadi, GE Indonesia; George Zaki, Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD) Indonesia; Kathy Scalabre, AGS Worldwide Movers; and Lydia Ruddy, Economic Research Institute for ASEAN and East Asia (ERIA).

After a brief Board meeting to elect a new chairman, it was announced that Scott Hanna of Freeport will continue his leadership position, now as AmCham Chairman.

Governors Emeritus work closely with the Board of Governors and are: Jim Castle of CastleAsia; Andy Cobham; Darrell Johnson of SSEK Indonesian Legal Consultants; Peter Meyer, chair of the Services Committee; and Dennis Heffernan.

The members of the 2020 AmCham Indonesia Board of Governors are:

  1. Chairman Scott Hanna (Freeport)
  2. Douglas Ramage (Bower Group Asia)
  3. Batara Sianturi (Citi Indonesia)
  4. Devi Kusumaningtyas (Nike)
  5. Donna Priadi (GE Indonesia)
  6. George Zaki (MSD)
  7. Ken Sauer (Risco Energy)
  8. Kathy Scalabre (AGS Worldwide Movers)
  9. Lydia Ruddy (ERIA)
  10. Mira Arifin (Bank of America Merrill Lynch)
  11. Joe Bartlett (Citra Tubindo)
  12. Dee Lobatto (Team Creatif Asia)
  13. Rob Logie (AIG Insurance Indonesia)
  14. Tarek Razik (Jakarta Intercultural School)
  15. Mark Winkel (Group W Strategic Communications)
  16. Diego Gonzalez (Coca Cola)
  17. Arief Susanto (Cargill)
  18. Louise McKenzie (ExxonMobil)

Have a successful 2020!