AmCham’s 2018 Board Revealed at Annual General Meeting

New faces and a new style at this year’s meeting

By Karmila Bain
Monday, December 18, 2017

AmCham Indonesia held its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, December 13 at the Ayana Midplaza Jakarta hotel, electing its Board of Governors and looking back on 2017. The meeting was attended by more than 40 AmCham members, both corporate and individual, as well as guests from the US Embassy and elsewhere.

At the meeting, the final votes were cast (voting was also available online) and the results announced for the governors elected or reelected for 2017. Alphabetically, they are: Brian Arnold (PwC), Andy Cobham (Wesley Clover), Donna Priadi (GE), Kathy Scalabre (AGS) and Batara Sianturi (Citi). Brian Arnold was reelected president for 2017. In an unprecedented result, for the 6th open board seat there was a tie between Robert Logie (AIG) and Thomas Shreve (Numada).  As this has never happened before, and given that the AmCham constitution and Bylaws have no rules for dealing with a tie result, the Board will address how to resolve this at its first meeting in the New Year.

Batara, Donna and Kathy are all first-time Board members.

Looking back happily

AmCham President Brian Arnold opened the AGM with an update on what AmCham was up to in 2017, including the US-Indonesia Investment Summit and video interviews with Indonesian cabinet ministers. He also noted the casual evening setting for the AGM at the Scusa Italian restaurant in the Ayana.

“We decided to try something a little bit different this year, more casual, have drinks together, and a bit less formal,” he said. “And there will be no power point presentations tonight.”

Managing Director A Lin Neumann followed with remarks tracking AmCham’s activities through 2017.  “It has been a busy and rewarding year,” Neumann said, expressing thanks for not having to produce a power point this year.

He said AmCham should be proud of its many activities during the year, including a very successful US-Indonesia Investment Summit in November held in cooperation with the US Chamber of Commerce. The year began with a gala welcoming reception for incoming US Ambassador Joseph Donovan and included several investment missions, the Summit, the DC Doorknock and numerous advocacy events with the Indonesian government. In 2017, Chevrolet also became the official vehicle of AmCham Indonesia.

The Financial Services and Financial Technology Mission in September under the US-Indonesia Investment Initiative was the largest mission AmCham has had, involving about 20 companies that had fruitful discussions with Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati, communication minister Rudiantara, BKPM head Thomas Lembong and the leaders of the Financial Services Authority (OJK).

Neumann also reported that AmCham’s membership stood at about 600 people and 250+ companies, and called for even more individuals and companies to join. He also thanked the Platinum Benefactors as the companies that make AmCham’s deeper advocacy and engagement possible.

He said he was also proud of a great Thanksgiving Golf Tournament, which this year was helped for the first time by a professional golf organizer to improve service and boost sponsorship; he added words of appreciation for the hard work the AmCham staff puts into the tournament each year.

Also at the meeting, AmCham warmly thanked four outgoing governors who have served the maximum two consecutive terms and must sit out for a year: Doug Ramage, Scott Hanna, Peter Meyer and Shanti Shamdasani.

The members of the 2018 AmCham Indonesia Board of Governors are:

  1. President Brian Arnold (PwC)
  2. Joe Bartlett (Citra Tubindo)
  3. Andy Cobham (Wesley Clover)
  4. Diego Gonzalez (Coca Cola)
  5. Dennis Heffernan (Indonesia Strategi Bisnis)
  6. Darrell Johnson (SSEK)
  7. Donna Priadi (GE)
  8. Kathy Scalabre (AGS)
  9. Adam Schwarz (Asia Group Advisors)
  10. Batara Sianturi (Citi)
  11. Arief Susanto (Cargill)
  12. Daniel L Wieczynski (ExxonMobil)
  13. Mark Winkel (Group W Strategic Communications)

TBD: Robert Logie (AIG) and Thomas Shreve (Numada) tie.

Thank you all for a great and successful 2017!

Usage of the AmCham Indonesia website states your compliance of our Terms of Use