AmCham 2016 Annual General Meeting

New US Ambassador speaks, board of governors election results

By AmCham Correspondent
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

AmCham Indonesia held its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday December 7 at the JS Luwansa Hotel in Jakarta. The meeting was attended by 60 AmCham members, both corporate and individual including the new US Ambassador to Indonesia, Joseph Donovan.

AmCham was honored to have the new Ambassador Donovan keynote the event after having just arrived in the country four days earlier. Ambassador Donovan, who has yet to formally present his credentials to President Joko Widodo, spoke of his appreciation for the longstanding relationship between AmCham and the US Embassy in Jakarta, and his hopes that the cooperation will continue and blossom under his leadership.

AmCham President Brian Arnold opened the AGM with a general update on what AmCham has accomplished in 2016.

“Our members and board have been a great source of strength and help for us,” said Arnold, who singled out AmCham’s 12 Platinum members for particular praise as underwriters of AmCham’s advocacy work.

Managing Director A. Lin Neumann followed with a presentation on AmCham’s many activities during the year, including the hugely successful annual US-Indonesia Investment Summit held in conjunction with the US Chamber of Commerce.

Neumann spoke of how proud AmCham is of the September Summit, noting that it was attended by an unprecedented eight ministers from President Joko Widodo’s cabinet, each of whom both spoke publicly and held private discussions with various companies on the sidelines of the gathering. “It was an incredible year for AmCham in which we really built our relationships with key officials on behalf of our companies,” said Neumann.

Neumann went on to praise the Golf Committee for another great Thanksgiving Day tournament, adding a note of thanks for the hard work the AmCham staff put into the tournament each year.

“I am privileged to work with a great board and an incredible and hard-working staff in the office,” said Neumann

2016-2017 Board of Governors

At the end of the meeting, the results of the elections for AmCham’s board of governors for 2017 were announced.

Elected for 2017 were:

Darrel Johnson, Dennis Heffernan, Mark Winkel, Adam Schwarz, Daniel L Wieczynski and Joe Bartlett.

The 2017 AmCham Indonesia Board of Governors is:

  1. President Brian Arnold
  2. Douglas Ramage
  3. Adam Schwarz
  4. Peter Meyer
  5. Scott Hanna
  6. Joe Bartlett
  7. Andy Cobham
  8. Martin Gil
  9. Gaurav Gupta
  10. Dennis Heffernan
  11. Darrell Johnson
  12. Shani Shamdasani
  13. Arief Susanto
  14. Daniel L Wieczynski
  15. Mark Winkel

AmCham also warmly thanked two Governors who stepped down, having served the maximum two consecutive terms; Jim Castle and David Gormley are ex-officio board members for 2017.

Thank you all for a great and successful 2016!

Related stories

AmCham Year in Review



Usage of the AmCham Indonesia website states your compliance of our Terms of Use